Posted in Uncategorized

A New Kind of Anorexia Memoir?

I’m always in two minds about ED books. At my worst they have definitely fuelled by ED, particularly ‘Wasted.’
How can we share our stories to help, not hurt people?

Charlotte on the Web

When I sat down to read Kelsey Osgood’s How to Disappear Completely: On Modern Anorexia, I was more than a little excited. I had read a review of the book in the New Yorker and was interested in how Osgood was going to critique the modern anorexia memoir and provide a corrective alternative. I was elated that finally, maybe I could read an anorexia memoir and not be triggered.

Yeah… that wasn’t really how things happened.

There were parts of Osgood’s memoir with which I found myself nodding in agreement. Anorexia memoirs often glamorize and romanticize the disease and have a sort of aesthetic appeal that veers on a perceived fulfillment of a spiritual or cultural ideal (classic memoir that does this = Hornbacher’s Wasted). That is problematic. As Osgood argues, an un-addressed but problematic part of these memoirs is that they are too graphic. They describe…

View original post 2,431 more words

Author:

Just a 25 year-old-English-gal trying to make her way through life, with all its ups and downs. I don't necessarily publish anything massively personal because I worry about triggering people big time, but if anyone has questions or memes they'd like me to do, then I'm up for it!

2 thoughts on “A New Kind of Anorexia Memoir?

  1. I really enjoyed this post. You make some interesting points. I hope you don’t mind that I have reblogged your post on word press. I also re blogged it on Stumble upon. I think this was a cracking book review combined with personal experience. I do actually want to read the book Not sure if that is my own Anorexic perversion coming out – it could be but it I haven’t read an eating disorder memoir in years. I would love to know my opinion. Thanks

    Like

    1. Thanks Daisy. I’m actually writing a novel (not my own story, although there will be aspects of my own journey in there) about a girl with an ED.
      But I DON’T want it to fuel people, like I’ve been fuelled by SO many books and documentaries. I really want it to help, and I don’t know how.

      Like

Leave a Reply

