Posted in Uncategorized

Triggers

VectorToons.com

I was talking to my CPN (Community Psychiatric Nurse) about some situations I’ve been in recently. Particularly to do with my Mum, who’s said she’s on a diet, and then has a bowl of cake and cream. I find that triggering.

I thought that’d be obvious. But she was all: ‘oh, that’s very interesting. What other triggers do you have?’

Me, being my stupid self, kinda assumed that everyone with an eating disorder would be triggered by the same things. But as everyone’s eating disorder is so different, it stands to reason that their triggers would be different too, right?

DOH!

So, I was wondering what things do other people find triggering? When I’ve with other people that I know through the ‘ED world’ I always try to avoid any obvious triggers, but what about the ones that I don’t recognise?

 

What triggers you? What are the worst things that anyone could say to you?

Author:

Just a 25 year-old-English-gal trying to make her way through life, with all its ups and downs. I don't necessarily publish anything massively personal because I worry about triggering people big time, but if anyone has questions or memes they'd like me to do, then I'm up for it!

5 thoughts on “Triggers

  1. For me it’s definitely the “you look so healthy” as well. The other day, my coworker said he didn’t recognize me because my “legs looked bigger”. Obvious trigger there. Another is people talking about needing to exercise after eating or in preparation for eating something “bad”, talking about needing to lose weight when they don’t, and commenting on what I’m eating.

    Like

    1. Yep, the ‘you look health/ier’ seems to be the worst for everyone. And I agree about people talking about exercise. I understand that for some people exercise is a huge part of their lives, but it just sends alarm bells for me. And ‘bad’ foods. Ugh. I always quote my dietitian about that: ‘there is no such thing as ‘good or bad foods.’

      Unfortunately, people usually look at me like I’m a weirdo.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

