Posted in June Books 16

11th June Summer Reading 16

img_3529-1

Now, I’ve realised that it doesn’t HAVE to be books read in the last month, this makes the challenge so much easier! I probably only read about 15 or so books last month, so I was panicking a bit.

GRAPHIC/NOVEL

Now, I’ve read a lot of really good graphic novels: manga, Marvel etc. But one has really stood out to me through all the years. It sounds a bit geeky, sorry :S

61lkvi-n2bel-_sx377_bo1204203200_

But, hey: I am a geek, so I might as well celebrate it! I LOVE Shakespeare, and this rendition is fantastic. It’s unabridged, which is quite unusual for graphic Shakespeares, and the images are truly haunting. If anyone has to study it at some point and is struggling: read this book. You will fall in love. King Lear is my favourite Shakespeare (well, favourite of the tragedies anyway, I have different for comedies and histories) and this probably contributed to that.

It’s a horrific story (for those that don’t already know it), heart-breaking, sad, frightening, cruel, brutal but fantastic.

So, graphic novels can be really serious. (My second choice would have been Maus).

dbsgirl x

Author:

Just a 25 year-old-English-gal trying to make her way through life, with all its ups and downs. I don't necessarily publish anything massively personal because I worry about triggering people big time, but if anyone has questions or memes they'd like me to do, then I'm up for it!

2 thoughts on “11th June Summer Reading 16

Leave a Reply

