Posted in June Books 16

June 13th Book Blogging

img_3529-1

Wanderlust… Ah, there are so many places I want to go! The first book that really captivated me was Che Guvyerara’s ‘The Motorcycle Diaries.’ It was my aim to spend a year travelling South America with someone amazing that I would meet, on the back of their back, following his path. It was a serious dream: it was for gap year.

I guess so many things that I’ve planned and dreamed of in my life have not come off. I did have a ‘gap year’ before ‘university.’ I spent a year in and out of hospital, before managing two weeks at university, and afterward followed five and a half years straight in various different hospitals under section and, toward the end, as a voluntary (ish) patient, before discharge as they didn’t know what to do with me.

the-motorcycle-diaries

So, ‘The Motorcycle Diaries’ was what really inspired me for so many years as a young adult, but now… I can’t read it. It’s too painful. Knowing that the likelihood of my ever going (with the bones of a ninety year old, under 24 hour paid surveillance, lacking capacity, not being able to intake anything but liquids, a tube up my nose, not allowed out) makes it too hard, even though it was a favourite book. Incidentally, the film is amazing as well. I would recommend it to everyone. To everybody. Anyone.

The politics of Ernesto and Che are fascinating, but it was the places I yearned for. Wanderlust indeed.

dbsgirl x

Author:

Just a 25 year-old-English-gal trying to make her way through life, with all its ups and downs. I don't necessarily publish anything massively personal because I worry about triggering people big time, but if anyone has questions or memes they'd like me to do, then I'm up for it!

Leave a Reply

