Posted in Uncategorized

Write Every Day: Fond Childhood Places

large_writers_write_every_day

 

Well, I was born in a city and didn’t move out to the country ’til I was five. Let me tell you I am a REAL country bumpkin. Put me in a city on my own, and I’m lost (often panicky), but on my own in the middle of nowhere – bliss. So, fond places from my very young childhood aren’t that many.

I loved the zoo (I wish I could still love the zoo, but now it’s too complicated with animal welfare and I just couldn’t enjoy it). My favourite animal’s an elephant and they had a lovely elephant, who I adored. She’s passed away now, but she was a famous girl in her time! This is her 40th birthday.

38253258_wendy300

In retrospect, she was probably kept very poorly. I didn’t know that as an innocent kid though. Zoos are hard. The worst are the big cats: cats have huge territories, and you see them pacing up and down and up and down. The cruelty breaks my heart. I agree with preserving endangered species, but there are ways and means. Lions are not endangered. They do not need to be kept in a cage.

There were also some wonderful outdoor places: a folly (I won’t name it, everyone will look up where I live!) with huge grounds for playing, a place we nicknamed ‘poo park’ because of the amount of dog poo (but when you’re little it doesn’t matter as much), I adored the city farm.

Indoor wise, I loved the RUMPUS ROOM! I didn’t realise that it was also a posh bar in London. MY rumpus room was fantastic: like a big bouncy place, with soft walls and balls and lots to play on. Something like this:

27-2-rumpus-1

I was pretty much caught up in my own head as a kid, so I didn’t play with anyone else, but I made up wonderful games for myself: trekking through the jungle, having to save my parents, that sort of thing.

But now, the fields and the rivers and the streams are my love. I’d never give them up. After spending 4 (out of 6) of my years in my hospital stays being in London, I realise I could never be a city girl.This is me.

 a37e9d02dbdcbb2c807777aebcea858d   (before anyone asks, I didn’t draw this!)

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE! Join in with me if you like. Gettingthroughanxiety is joining me too 🙂

Author:

Just a 25 year-old-English-gal trying to make her way through life, with all its ups and downs. I don't necessarily publish anything massively personal because I worry about triggering people big time, but if anyone has questions or memes they'd like me to do, then I'm up for it!

One thought on “Write Every Day: Fond Childhood Places

Leave a Reply

